Should I ignore my best friend if he says he loves me?

Noyontara

I've been working for 2 years at an MNC and there's this guy at work who has been in my team right from the beginning. We started as strangers but soon we found we had too much in common. It ended up in a strong friendship and now he's the first person I turn to when I want to discuss anything.

It's worthwhile to mention that we do connect at a different level altogether and I can't think of any other individual (apart from my mom maybe) who understands me so well.

I never thought it was anything other than friendship. Even though other colleagues teased us about our striking similarities, or our fights, or our endless conversations apart from work - I always told them that he's like a brother from another mother and I swear I never felt for him romantically.

Important fact to be mentioned here- this friend of mine has a defective right leg which doesn't allow him to walk steadily. He has to stagger or use a wheelchair. He's smart, intelligent, has a wry sense of humour and even has a nice side to him but his obvious physical shortcoming and the sympathy and unwanted attention that he receives from people as a result leaves him all frustrated and rude all the time. I'm probably the only person on earth who can bring him out of his shell and make him laugh. Also, he hasn't got many close friends apart from me, right now atleast.

Now comes the problem. 2 months ago, he was drunk at a party and confessed he liked me. He said he's been hiding it for a year and he can't do it anymore. He was supposedly expecting it to go away but things just went "out of control". He said he's not expecting me to feel the same way but he just wanted to come clean.