Am I selfish & irresponsible?

ravioli

Hello all,

I am new here and hopefully I am posting this on the right forum. I also apologize for the long post ahead, but I hope someone can help me. What trigged my question above, actually happened just two days ago but requires the following context:

About 5 years ago, after I finished my university bachelor degree, I was desperately looking for a job. I live in a country where it's difficult to find a job where they pay a fair salary (in comparison to the work that is being done) or where you can get a decent work-life balance. I kept looking for a job for about 3 months and the more time I spent at home, the more demotivated I felt. So I thought, 'hey, why not doing voluntary work somewhere nearby while I'm searching? That way I get experience and keep my head entertained' - following this thought, I went to a community youth center nearby asking if they need a hand. I explained them my situation and they said they would let me work there (for free) until I got a job. So I worked there for about 6 months for free, never missing a day or arriving later. Eventually I found a good paying job and had to leave the community center. I left on very good terms and felt very grateful for the opportunity that I was given there, as I had learnt a lot and the people there trusted me completely. They said if there was ever a chance of employing me there, they would give me a call.

Fast forward 2 years later, I got a call from the boss of the community youth center. She said she was starting a new project and was gathering new people for the team and proposed me a not-so-good paying job offer, but with the promise to have me promoted after 2 years. Because I had been so happy when I worked there, as well as because it was closer to home, I left my previous job and accepted her offer.