8.5 years together with no engagement

I've been with my boyfriend for 8.5 years. We have lived together for 6.5 years (I am 30 btw). When we were in the early years of our relationship my bf told me he wanted to propose at around the 2 year mark but I told him to wait until I finished grad school as I didn't want to be engaged and plan a wedding while in school. I graduated last May 2019 and in the summertime we went on a vacation during which I thought he would propose. I realized that he didn't know what kind of ring I wanted, which isn't really his fault as neither did I. I had never really thought much about an engagement ring so we went ring shopping/browsing and after I realized what I liked I shared photos with him to help give him an idea. He later asked for my ring size, stone shape that I preferred, etc., and told me that sometime before Christmas he would propose.

A few weeks before Christmas his one friend told me that my bf would be proposing by Christmas time--his friend told me this without me even asking. Christmas has come and gone and there is no proposal. Should I bring this up to my bf again? I am not an overly obsessive person when it comes to marriage, but if we plan to get married I would like to do it sooner than later as I want to start a family in the next few years (as does my bf). I would propose myself but I don't want to potentially ruin anything he has planned. Thank you for any advice! - Rochelle

Why don't you just tell him that his so called friend (big mouth) told you that you would be engaged by Christmas and you're wondering why you aren't?

Agree. Mention what the friend said. Even if your boyfriend has something planned, he doesn't have to tell you what, just that something is or isn't on the way.

Communication is key. Just talk to each other.