Was it the right thing to end it?

nman414

My girlfriend and I had been dating for a year, currently I’m a college freshman and she’s a high school senior. Everything was really good at the beginning of the relationship but at about month three I felt like I wasn’t getting out of the relationship what I was putting in, but I never told her and kinda fell out of love. Summer was good, we hung out everyday and my love grew a little, then I went away to college and we no longer had eachother. And at that moment I kind of realized that was the only thing we had in common. When we were apart, I didn’t really enjoy talking to her as it was always just her complaining and I just didn’t feel the same way. But I would go home for a break, we’d be back together and I’d love her again. About a month ago I decided it was best to move on and stop wasting each other’s time as I assumed I could find someone down at college, but she convinced me not to leave her saying she never realized her flaws and that she would change. So we gave it another chance and I still felt the same way, not excited to talk to her, in a way dreading it sometimes, but then loving it when I went home to her. Fast forward a month and I’m feeling the same way so yesterday I decided to end it again. She was extremely sad and hurt by the way I did it but I felt it was what I had to do. Today though I unsure about how I feel. I cried taking down all of the pictures of us in my room while trying to move on. Am I doing the right thing? We agreed to still be friends and maybe call this a break until things work themselves out and I told her maybe we could try again if she went to college down here, but I’m just feeling so lost right now. I assume it’s a normal part of the breakup but I just wanted some outside input.

You're in college and you're indifferent to her unless she's standing in front of you, it doesn't even sound like you miss her much while you're at college and inbetween school breaks.