Facebook share
LinkedIn share
Google plus share
Twitter plus share
Give Advice
Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How to get out of being a bridesmaid?

How to get out of being a bridesmaid?

I had a friend get engaged several months ago. I guess I should put friend in quotes but I've always had some issues with her but she's kind of crazy so I do my best to keep my distance. We aren't super close but she has this idea that she's my only friend in the world (not true) so while she's a social butterfly and doesn't invite me to things (and I don't invite her to my things), she says things like "I'm your best friend..." as a way to try and have an in with me. Just another example of how she's manipulative.

Anyway, she got engaged to her longterm boyfriend. I said congrats and then she started begging me to be a BM. I really didn't want to do it, and I told her as such, told her that I'm not good at participating in things like these and it's not really to my liking but she NAGGED and NAGGED and it wore me down. It's not like she doesn't have other friends. I was stupid and I caved. I said yes and as soon as the words came out of my mouth, I felt regret.

Wedding is over a year away. The only thing I've done is show up at a bridal store. The only dress suggestion I had for her, which I personally felt was classy yet understated, ended being THE DRESS. Well, s__t, how am I going to get out of this one?

Anyway, I am not sure how I can get out of this one, if I even can. I can't use the $$ excuse as we both make good money now. I could easily afford it. She hints about wanting to set me up and I've told her MULTIPLE TIMES that I do not want that and that if she tries to do that, I will leave early. She has no idea what I like in men and her judgment is poor. I don't have a lot of faith in her future marriage anyway because they disagree on major issues and love to gaslight each other into dysfunction.