Facebook share
LinkedIn share
Google plus share
Twitter plus share
Give Advice
Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Narcissistic mother trying to impose curfew at 21?

Bronze Member

Narcissistic mother trying to impose curfew at 21?

I'm 21. My parents are both emotionally abusive, especially my mother. The marriage is also broken and toxic. I was away for two years at college then came back home during my junior year for nursing school (it was ten minutes from the house). I'm not in nursing school anymore as I now commute to about forty-five minutes to school. My mom is always controlling about what I wear, where I am, etc. I usually stand up for myself, which has resulted in big arguments. I do go out and make sure to inform both my mom and dad. I'm currently a full-time college student and have a part-time job. I do not have a set curfew, but I usually try to make it home before 12 or 12:30.

So last night, I got home at 12 and I told my mom where I was going as she asked me three times. I was only sixteen minutes away. It was raining at the time. She called me at ten and eleven. I didn't answer both. She then to come home because I was not at my school library and went to another one. So I got home and explained to her the place has security. Fast forward to this morning, I didn't know my right tire was flat. Instead to help, she was yelling and was like "You think you are smarter than me? See why I said to come home early" luckily, my phone died and I just got ready for school. My dad took my car and changed the tire. So he comes back right. I told him I'm not about to controlled and none of my friends have curfews (most live with their parents as well).