Is constant eye contact a green light?

hide

I’m new to dating girls, I’m in senior year of high school and havnt has a girlfriend. There are a few girls that I think are attractive and would like to try to get to know, but I don’t want to scare them off.

The common thing I have noticed is that any time we are in the same vicinity, we make eye contact. For example, I see this one girl every day at school, and occasionally at work and every time she walks by we always make eye contact and let out a subtle smile.

I have noticed a few girls do this with me, and I have never even met them. Is this a green light to walk up and start talking and ask to hangout? I don’t want to scare them off.

eye contact and a small smile are a green light. It is asking you to say 'Hi' and to talk to them, and eventually ask on a date. You might scare some off, that happens. I have scared some off before. Say hi and ask them to go some place simple, ball game or whatever.

A cold approach, like where you don't know these girls at all besides going to the same school as them, is not a good idea for a beginner, unless you look like a Greek god.

It would be more appropriate to engineer a situation where you can meet them in a social setting to begin with. For example if a girl works at a coffee shop, go there and do some work on your laptop, if she is in a school club, maybe join that club (not if you have zero interest in the activity)... At least be in a position where you have had a few conversations with a girl, she knows your name etc... before you drop the "hey, I think you're cute, would you like to go on a date some time?"

A cold approach, like where you don't know these girls at all besides going to the same school as them, is not a good idea for a beginner, unless you look like a Greek god.

It's a bit unnerving for a girl even if you do look like a Greek god.