How do I cut off girlfriend that won’t accept breakup

nman414

So I’ve been dating my gf for a little under a year now. For the past few months I have been losing feelings. She is a high school senior and I’m a college freshman. After I left for college her attention and desire for me comes in waves. She’ll go the whole day without texting and then wants to FaceTime for an entire day, then gets angry when I tell her I can’t because of how much homework I have. As I said though, I’ve sort of been losing feelings for her, we fight a lot and now that we can’t be together to go on dates/ be together, I feel like we actually have nothing in common. Last night we got into a fight over something dumb and long story short I’m discussing with her that maybe we shouldn’t be together anymore. She won’t accept it though, she keeps saying she’ll change and it’ll be different but I feel like it won’t be. I go home for the weekend on Thursday and I don’t know what to do. I feel like I can’t go on with this relationship because she says she change but I think my feelings are gone for her already. What should I do? And I’m pretty sure she wants to see me this weekend how do I go about handling that?

You should tell her firmly that you don't have feelings for her anymore, and this is something you really want, and she needs to accept this. Then go no contact, block/delete her on everything, and don't answer the door. Have your parents or roommate tell her you have gone out or you are not home. Avoid her at all costs.

As jim says, see her and break up with her face-to-face.

It's one of those occasions where you need to be 'cruel to be kind', and make it clear that you don't think you're right for each other - and wish her well. Then block her and go NC.

It takes work to maintain relationships like this even when you're both getting on pretty well, and it sounds as though you've outgrown her. You're both really young and it's just one of those things which happens.