Taking a 2 Month Sabbatical to Look for a New Job- Need Job Search Advice

girltalkCA

I currently work as a Wine Buyer for the last 5 years and feeling burnt out/ not appreciated/ wanting a change...etc. I've delayed the job search for awhile because I am so used to the security of my job (the known vs. the unknown) and realize it takes a lot of work and effort to find a new position.

I was able to take a 2 month sabbatical leave which started in September and I have 1 more month left. I've been going heard with the job search, working my contacts, and landed a few interviews and even came to the final interviews with one position I really liked, but they ended up choosing someone else. Now I just feel exhausted from the job search itself, trying to figure out what I want to do....etc. I'm starting to feel negative and losing hope that a better position is out there for me.

My experience is in food/wine/retail...and I've mainly been looking at wine sale rep positions. I'm now opening up my search to other type of positions, especially now that I realize it could take a lot longer to find a position worth changing jobs for. I'm also dreading the thought of having to go back to work....to the same old grind. As many of you know, looking for a job can be a full time job and is even harder to do when you are working full time.

Has anyone gone through something similar and have any words of encouragement or advice? How long did it take to find a new position? Any tips on how to look? Advice on how to stay mentally grounded and positive during this time?