Are we committed or not?

Clawd22

I have been with my boyfriend nearly 3 years. We don't live together. Obviously we were both private renting our own places when we met. We were both fairly set on the idea of getting a mortgage. He makes way more money than I do, so he was managing to save a lot faster. I am studying myself, just finishing my undergraduate and moving onto my masters in 2020, so I do not have a lot of time to work extra hours. He literally pays for everything, and I hate it, as my finances tend to be spent on daily living, very rarely a chance to buy a new top for under £10.

But 15 months into dating, i was offered a council flat, I'd made the application ages before I met him. I spoke to him about it and he was all for it, so I had taken it. He didn't want to move into the council flat. 3 months after I had taken it he then asked if I would move out and live with him in his private rented flat. For multiple reasons (couldn't afford it, travel to/from work, but most importantly council flat) I couldn't move in. So we continued with our dreams of saving and getting a mortgage. Or at least I thought we were working together, but it appears not. There were no joint savings accounts, or plans between us as to how it could work realistically.

So about 2 and a half years into our relationship he was ready to get a mortgage. I said I had not money to give for a deposit (I barely had £500 in savings after nearly 2 years) so he went ahead and got a mortgage. I said from the moment he decided that it would be his house and not ours, but he insisted it would be our place, despite my saying I wouldn't be a home owner. He wants to wait until his fixed rate is up to remortgage, which is 5 years.