Raise talk at work

BecxyRex

Hi everyone,

I'm not quite sure how to handle this situation or know if I'm too pushy or not assertive enough. I'm hoping some folks with more experience in this regard can give me some tips.

I've been with my company for nearly 6 years (in December) and in all those 6 years I have gotten a $1.76 raise total. Both of those were a part of everyone getting "surprise" raises, so no individual raise.

Recently, I've noticed that lots of new hires we're getting are already making more than I am. I've heard this in conversations here and there. These people sometimes do the same work I do and come to me for guidance or are sent to me by our supervisor to explain a project. I'm not technically a lead or supervising artist, but I have explained steps to new people, who are making more money right off the bat. It's kind of irritating at this point. I understand that cost of living changes and that they couldn't afford to hire people nowadays for the same wage they had when I was hired, but as an employee of 6 years I feel like I'm falling to the wayside and it's hard to keep up with increasing life costs with the same income.

Anyway, I asked our HR lady to talk about a potential raise and she was very willing to meet with me 2 days later. During this meeting I explained that I've had good yearly reviews and led a few comic book projects all on my own, from start to finish, with happy clients always. She assured me she'd talk to my supervisor and CFO and will make sure to get the ball rolling in no more than 2 weeks time. This was at the beginning of July.

I waited for the 2 weeks to be up with no word from her. I approached her a bit after and was told that my supervisor needs an additional 2 weeks to make a decision. He had broken his ankle during that time and was out for a few days, so I understood that times were a little crazy for him.