Google plus share
Twitter plus share
Give Advice
Ask For Advice
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Being broken up with by a relapsing alcoholic

Platinum Member

Being broken up with by a relapsing alcoholic

Here I am again after so many years. I’ve been single for most time but half a year ago I met my current partner who is now breaking up with me.

I won’t go into too much detail about how we met, but she was a recovering alcoholic and I am a caregiver. So there was much ado about our relationship as we started it, but I want to be clear that we had had no professional contact whatsoever. It just happened to be that I am a medical doctor.

I thought I met the love of my life. She was so kind and understanding through many of my own issues (i grew up with a personality disordered mother, developed severe perfectionism and quite a rigid lifestyle being a doctor, not a lot of free time) and I really loved being around her, very charismatic personality. She has in fact been a caregiver herself and a musician.

We had our issues, mostly being me having not so much spare time and could only spend 2-3 nights a week with her, had to work on school (still in residency) and she apparently did not understand at all and took it as personal rejection despite my efforts to communicate about this.

She was sober for around five months and even had a job and was living a normal life again, we did not live together but she was rebuilding her life.

Fastforward to two weeks ago: job get’s really stressful, she cannot admit it and all of a sudden goes out for a bottle of wine and drinks the entire bottle. We did not even had an argument before and I was completely surprised I did not see this coming.

For the past few weeks she drank again 1-1,5 bottle of wine and became a completely different person.