I gave up alot for him

This is my first time posting here but I’ve been reading this forum and would love to get some advice or a third person point of view. I met my ex while he was on holiday in the city I used to work in. We hit it right off and shortly he started visiting me every month. I was going through alot where I lived and I needed to find a way out so my plan was to move to another country. My ex was supportive at the time but also wanted me to move to his country. Moving there was very difficult because the visa and immigration rules were very strict. After much consideration and conversations with my ex I told him it would be very difficult and that I can’t control my situation and that if he doesn’t see us going anywhere then he should just leave me.

He didn’t. In fact he stuck around and eventually I did move to his country. Many teary phone calls I explained that the process would be too hard and that it might be hard on our relationship. He said to come and that everything would be alright. I moved and started the process to be able to stay there. We mentioned marriage few times but he was very much against it and I also felt we just started the relationship. So I looked for alternatives and have been fighting to find a way. In the months I was there we fought and argued because of the pressure we had to go through because of the case but mostly we grew closer and were completely in love. The good days were much more than the bad days and I felt we can go through anything together.

Few months in I realized that for me to stay there there was no way but to get married. After much research I opened up to him about it and told him that we can do it on paper. I did though tell him if he feels he has his life ahead and doesn’t want to do it then he can leave right then and there. We talked, we cried and decided to give him two weeks to decide.