Looking for insight

notafraid

I’m a 48 year old woman, single. I work in a restaurant and I’ve been working at the same place for almost five years. I like it, people are nice and it’s daytime hours. The last time I was in a relationship was almost three years ago. Generally I attract and I am attracted to men who are not good for me: emotionally unavailable, addiction issues, etc. I’ve been doing a lot of internal work to change my patterns of the past. Cut to a few months ago when this gentleman came in to work with one of his co workers for lunch. I was instantly attracted to him, to the point where I had butterflies in my tummy. I didn’t think much about it but he came in alone a couple of times after and I tried to engage him in discussion: he seems very shy, very sweet. I found out he lives very close to where I live. I obviously have to be professional at work and would never come on to a customer. I found out from a neighbour that he’s in his early 60s his wife passed a few years ago which is heartbreaking. BTW he looks really good for a man that age because when I first met him I thought at the most 55. Anyway the last time he came in with his co worker there was some flirting between the two of us, when I went to the table to take their order he was asking me all these questions as if he didn’t want me to leave. It made me smile. When they they left he made a slightly flirtatious comment and we all laughed about it.....however I haven’t seen him since and that was over two weeks ago. Wondering if I may have overstepped my boundaries?😔 or maybe he’s just shy?