Confusing Breakup?!

Disclaimer: this is going to be really long because I don't want to leave out any detail.

My ex (we'll call him "Steve" aged 20) and I (aged 19) had been together for 3 months. I know that's not a long time, but we visited each other at least 2-3 times a week and talked everyday and became very close. In these 3 months, we never had a fight, we were both equally involved in the relationship, had met each others' family, went out on dates, and there were no trust issues. I couldn't have asked for a better relationship, honestly. Steve was very religous and wanted to wait until marriage, which I was perfectly fine with, so we did not have sex (or really even participate in any sexual activity during this time). I mention this in case it plays apart in the issue, but it may be irrelevant. We had also recently started saying the "L" word. He said it first. Maybe it was too soon, I don't know. I'm not a relationship expert, so I don't know these things, lol.

A couple weeks ago, Steve started acting different. It was Tuesday (May 7) when he become dry and distant. I didn't think much of it as we all have our off days. Plus, we had just hung out the night before and had a great time. I asked if he was okay, Steve said he was fine, so I just left it at that. His new behavior continued for the next few days, and I started to feel paranoid that he was mad at me for some unknown reason.

That Friday, I gave Steve a call and asked if he was okay again. I didn't want to be annoying, but I was worried about him. Steve told me that he had gotten in a fight with his roommate and just didn't want to talk to anyone. I respected that and left him alone for the rest of that Friday and Saturday.