I've been going out with this guy for over 3 years: we're super compatible on an emotional level and he's been there for me through some difficult things, but I am just not physically attracted to him. I find myself wondering whether to call things off with him but I am scared of the consequences: how he will cope, and also how I will cope after such an intense relationship? Our families are also super invested in the relationship (he's perfect on paper) so that makes it hard too. He's my first serious bf so I have no experience dealing with this sort of stuff- any help would be really appreciated :)

Bit of background: 3 years ago he asked me out, we went on a few dates but then I realised that I wasn't attracted to him. I tried to call things off but he made me feel awful about it and persuaded me to "give it a go". 3 years on and I've definitely found a best friend who has supported me through uni but I still wonder whether I am missing out (classic grass is always greener...) in what is supposedly the "prime" of my life (I'm 22). He has often talked about "when we have kids" etc and I just wonder whether I would prefer to live life first (ie not settle down with the first guy I meet) but I don't know if that's just dumb.

I will be moving abroad in September for a year (I've done it before and we did long-distance) and his family have offered me an apartment to rent from them. This makes things even more difficult because they are saying it would really help them out to have a tenant they know and trust.

Any time I think about breaking up with him I feel like I couldn't go through with it. He's often said that he isn't "good enough" for me (untrue) and that he loves me for staying with him, and I know that I would struggle a lot mentally because we spend a lot of time together.

There we are- any thoughts would be very much appreciated! Thank you!

You need to end this. In the long run, it is not fair to you, or him.