Hello all,

I am almost 22 years old and graduating college in 2 weeks. I was with my ex from December of 2015 to February of this year. We were friends throughout high school, graduated the same year and got drunk at a party in freshman year of college and got together shortly after. I never expected her to become the love of my life like she has. I would consider her my best friend and she understands me like nobody else can even come close to, and I understand her very well too. (I think) Due to a sad childhood involving my parents both passing away from cancer before I graduated high school, I suffered from debilitating depression and low self confidence/lack of motivation which got serious sometime in my sophomore year of college (Fall 2016/Spring 2017) I turned to smoking weed religiously every day and thought for a while that it was helping me stay calm relaxed and happy, when in reality it was making me forget my issues and be lazy.

With my constant sadness I turned my ex into an emotional crutch. Whenever I felt sad or like I wouldn't amount to anything I would confide in her. She would be supportive and tell me I should do this or that to make me feel better, but I was a hermit for a long time just smoking weed by myself in the comfort of my own room. I have made only 1 close friend throughout my 4 years of college and I know once I graduate I'm going to regret and reminisce on what I didn't do, all because I just wanted to smoke weed by myself and play video games or surf the web.