Is my girlfriend crazy/ unreasonable??????

bundaberg

Hi all, I have a predicament..... My partner of six months is unhappy with me because I use an app on my phone to record my phone calls if i choose. I have been doing this for over 3 years as I dont want to miss calls from my children whom i have not seen for over 4 years, and work calls that involve specific instructions. In an attempt to get "feedback" from others, she published details about our situation on the internet for all to read, and this is what she wrote:

I have a predicament. I cannot suitably explain to my (6 months new) partner (who was previously screwed over in a relationship) that although it is legal to record phone conversations (in Qld), it isn't ethical nor is it normal behaviour. In trying to put my point across, I unsettled him by questioning his mentality and saying it was weird. But is it?

Having myself just come from a previous controlling (DV) relationship, I just want to know if this alarms others? Or if I am I being over dramatic and over analysing?

I don't want to end up where I was before.

New partner has an app downloaded on his phone that asks after every call if he wants to save the recording. 98% of the time he chooses not to save, but he cannot understand how this is unnerving to me, especially if we argue.

Now, I don't have anything to hide, but in general conversation it just doesn't seem necessary to have this available.

To me, recording phone conversations (without the other person being aware) for your own convenience or later use (no matter if your intention is genuine), using an added on third party app, although not illegal doesn't seem ethical.

The person being recorded has no control over what you do with the recording and may feel it could be used against them causing mistrust, wariness and a sense of disloyalty.

So I feel that although legally you can do it, you do so at the risk of relationships suffering.