Job/Career Crossroads - Desperation

I am a 40-something IT professional. I began in techie roles, then decided to move into project management a few years ago. I held two PM positions at two different companies for a combined 8 years. I was so miserable and stressed out that I wound up quitting both jobs without having another job lined up (not wise I understand, but I am single without kids and financially was able to do so). I need to start working again and I so, so want to do something other than project management. The thought of working in a PM role again literally brings about a major anxiety response. However, that is my work experience for the past decade and obviously the easiest route back to work. At the last company I thought I would get my foot in the door as a PM then try to move into a different position. Well that is much easier said than done and it didn't happen.

I know that it's possible to change your career, but without any experience what company is going to hire a middle aged man? I don't even know how to begin going about it; I spoke with a career counselor didn't get anything out of it. Is it possible for me to parlay the skills I picked up as a PM into a different role? Or should I just bite the bullet and try to find another PM role and be miserable most of the time? I want to believe that a real career change is possible but I just don't know. Thanks for any advice!