Trying with a girl again after not talking to her for months

sarack

Before I start, I am a sophomore in high school. During the end of the previous school year and around midway through the summer, I started liking a girl. Me, having low self confidence at the time, would always text and rarely come up to her in person. Although, when I did, there was clearly interest, based on the way she acted around me and the way she talked to me, I am almost 100% sure there was.

During the summer, after a lot more talking over text, I decided to ask if she would want to go on a date. This was kind of stupid of me, as I should have waited and talked to her in person more, but how I felt about myself was not going to permit that to happen. She said yes initially, but she also said she wanted to talk to me more in person first, but that we could hang out or start dating if that happened. For some reason, I was extremely disappointed by this response, and I just started to stop talking to her. Eventually, we didn't talk for a 6 month stretch of time.

During the summer, I gained confidence by working on my body. I was now able to confidently approach girls. Due to this, I decided that it wouldn't hurt to give it another go, where I would actually talk to her in person more than over text, and see if the interest that she had before was still there. If not, I would just let it go. I talked to her and still saw some of the interest. Should I try again with my newfound confidence or would you count what she said to me as a rejection like I initially did?

I feel like I’m really stupid for overthinking this, I’m sure there’s an obvious answer I’m just overthinking way too much. Someone’s else’s opinion would really help.

She rejected you. You get one chance at love per person.

No problem! There are plenty of other girls at school you would kiss if given the chance, right? So flirt with them and find one who really likes you.

Nothing is going to happen unless they like you a lot.