Retired due to schizoaffective disorder

Hello. I was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder about 1 year ago, which led me to suicide attempts and social anxiety.

I was retired/disabled because of it but I have support of a doctor and therapist, I take my medication and I live basically a normal life except that I do not work.

I have a boyfriend, the sex is great, he treats me with respect but I feel very anxious to meet his family and friends when the question comes: what do I do for a living.

I think mental health issues still carry a lot of stigma and I am embarrassed to say that I am disabled because of a mental disorder.

My boyfriend wants me to join him and his friends on a concert next weekend and I am feeling very anxious.

What should I do?

Sorry you're feeling so anxious about this, and I don't think there's any need to tell anyone you're disabled due to a mental disorder. Basically, what you do for a living is nobody else's business but if you feel the need to say something, think about how you fill your days. If you do any kind of creative/practical activity, tell them that's what you do.

Hi I have the same diagnosis and can’t work as well. I usually am good about adverting the conversation away from me when they ask because I’ll I say is I’m working on my writing. Which is true. So if you have something creative you do you could use that to your advantage.

Or just tell them a hobby you do or volunteering.

Lisa

Does your boyfriend know about your situation? If he does know, you should try to educate him on the facts of your condition and how you can live a normal life by staying on your meds, just in case the subject comes out later with his family and he has all the information.

I agree that it's nobody's business what you do or don't. I am sure you don't seat on the couch all day, you must have hobbies, activities, you can talk about those, or simply say I am not working at the moment, I am doing "this".