My ex is in a new relationship already and I'm going insane

**English isn't my first language, so excuse me any mistakes :smug: **

Hello, there! It's my first time posting here. I've just found this forum and my first impressions is that it's an amazing supporting community.

This is a bit of a long story, but I really need to put it out there because I'm going insane. I'd be very grateful if you could help me with some input.

My ex and I had a relationship for about 2 1/2 years. We met through work and we live in different cities - one hour away. When we met he was changing careers paths and facing some family problems. Our first year together was great, but suddenly things started to get complicated. He was working in two jobs including weekends and taking care of his sick mother who was living with him. We were barely seeing each other, but we were still trying to be together - even though we weren't in a fully committed relationship. During the relationship I used to go to his house, I've met his mother and used to talk to his sister on the phone, but he never called me his girlfriend. He always told me that I was the one and it was a matter of time for him to put his life together and finally dedicate himself to us.