Who controls the money in a relationship?

Loanieee

I know my title sounds controlling. I personally think in a long relationship finances should be equal in a shared bank account. However my partner (been together 8 years) is obsessed with money, he thinks I’m not good at saving (I disagree I think i can save but now and then I also like to live and spend money), he wants all the money kept and deposited into one account that I won’t have access too, so he can watch it grow and we can save for a house deposit. I don’t feel good about this. It stresses me out. I love him, but I don’t love his obsession with money that has always caused underlying stress in our relationship.

No, I wouldn't agree to his unreasonable idea. In my marriage, we have our names on each others separate accounts. We have come up with what we think is a fair divvying up of which bills I will pay and which bills he will pay. We don't split one bill, which is too much work, and if one of us payed the other like rent to pay the bills, the psychology of that would seem strange to us. Each of us will pick up groceries and each of us take turns for treating each other to restaurant meals.

You two have to come to a consensus on how you will handle finances. I'd suggest agreeing to a set amount you each save per month toward a house deposit which won't be touched unless there is an emergency. Assuming you live together, after the bills are paid, and some money is also given to savings if you don't already have a 3 month emergency fund, then certainly whatever is leftover should be used on fun experiences.

Is he a tightwad and you can't even enjoy life because he refuses to go to the movies or restaurants, or mini trips? Do you enjoy life with him besides having opposite thoughts on finances? Is he a dictator or does he work with you like a team player?