Can't seem to secure crew work at AV hire companies

1a1a

I'm a sound tech by trade, I own my own gear which I hire out sometimes, I'm capable of taking a bare room and filling it with the appropriate equipment for a show, I've been told by many I'm pleasant to work with and my mixes sound good, I'm interested in lighting as well and have gotten better at that over the last 5 years. And I have enough work, mostly a venues, jobs gotten through friends or friendly connections.

But that's not the normal path (and it's good to have diverse income streams). The normal path is get a job at an AV hire company, and in 12 years of doing this job the closest I have gotten to working for one was semi regular casual work and they've since changed the person doing the rosters and I have fallen off. Not even for their most hectic job did I get called in. I don't know if I burnt a gig (I don't think so) or I'm just not on their radar, even though I've been in touch lately.

Today, in the thick of festival season I tried a little cold canvassing. All I have achieved is to remind one company that they need to send one of my employers a hefty bill (faaaaaaaaaaaark!!!!) And to confirm that another company knows I exist. They all know I exist now. But when they take on new crew the new crew are never me. And this might be coincidence but it increasingly feels like something is off (gender? Eccentricity? Both?!) And it would sort of just be what it is but I see my male colleagues who started later than me being head hunted by these companies. It's so frustrating. And inadvertently reminding that company they need to bill my employer is beyond frustrating, that makes me feel anxious that that employer will look less favourably upon me now (not for seeking more work, that's the nature of freelancing but for being the catalyst for the incoming bill)