Recent Graduate

Hi everyone,

I'm 27 and I moved away from home to a city 1.5 hours away for postgraduate study.

I graduated in early November 2018.

Because of the nature of work in my field (Engineering), companies tend not to employ new people or look at applications towards the end of the year.

My friends from college have all moved back home or away for jobs, while I'm staying in the same apartment by myself.

I did some traveling and went back home couple times to avoid the loneliness.

I've just sent out applications to companies but I know it'll take awhile until I'll hear something back.

I understand that it might take couple or few months, or even longer until I can find a decent job.

Should I look for a part time job?

And do you guys have tips on staying motivated?

Companies that hire new grads, go through your uni career services and actually set up on campus interviews at the end of each graduating semester. You need to focus on that and working with the career office. Sometimes they'll hold mock interviews, resume reviews, etc so be sure you participate and stay on top of all that. Best job opportunities will actually come through that.

Other than that, check out internships in your field and try your best to network. Also, talk to your professors if you had any you were more close to as they often have industry connections and can refer you to a job or see if you can do some kind of a research assistant position. Usually that goes to active students, but professors can override the system if they want a particular person on their team.

In short, instead of pining for your friends, right now you should be in full out frenzy trying to find a job in your field. If you are in a situation that you need to cover your bills, then of course get some part time job, but otherwise your full focus needs to be on getting a job in your field and not telling yourself that they just aren't hiring.