Open Club  ·  96 members  ·  Free

Journals

The Electricity of the Unknown

Frazen

I stare blankly at my laptop. I sip my insipid tea. I sigh, thinking of those glorious days when I was 14 and I had so much to live for.

Things have changed so much since then.

As an aspiring writer, I've never had any shortage of existential crisis, but this time it hurts, mainly because it is no feeling at all. Because it's not sorrow, anger, or despair. It's an absolute nothingness as empty and abysmal as the outer space. Life has no meaning any more.

On meaning:

When I was 14 I was a wild wolf. I used to run on vast fields of snow, feeling the crisp breeze washing away my grief and lightening my heart. I was roiling with emotions. I had fallen in love, which some times made me scream silently in solitude as I self-harmed, and some times made me laugh with utter ecstasy. I would lie on my back and put together dreams like jigsaw puzzle pieces, imagining how I would continue writing, because I thought that was the thing that would give my life meaning at any time. The gears of my mind worked effortlessly and spouted out ideas. I felt like I was able to do what ever I wanted and had such a tremendous faith in my mission in life.

But my uncle passed away last month and even though my passion for life had started to slowly fade away since a year ago, that made the deadliest blow. Upon hearing the news of his death, I too wished that I was dead. Death doesn't feel like anything, right? You just disappear, as if you never existed. One moment you are, and the next moment you are not.

You might want to tell me "Even if souls don't exist, the influence of people lives on in this world", to which I would say "so what?". I used to think you can immortalize yourself through being remembered by others, but now I find even that meaningless.