Thoughts on sudden breakup? (Very long, new user)

Hello Everyone, I've never used this forum before, but I've been reading threads lately and it seems like there's a lot of good advice here so I thought I'd share my situation. Sorry if it's a little long I just need to get some of this stuff out of my mind, I appreciate all responses. Tl;dr at bottom.

My girlfriend broke up with me a little over a month ago, and while I'm doing quite a lot better now, I still feel confused and just wanted to get some thoughts if possible since I've never been through this before. I am in school for engineering and this past summer I had my first internship. We both met there in the first week and it obvious from the start we were into each other. After a short period of flirting and going out after work, we revealed our feelings to each other and decided to start dating (we called each other bf and gf right away, not casual). I learned that she had not yet had a serious relationship, and I told her that I was the same (perhaps a little sad since we were far into college, but honestly I just hadn't met someone I felt this way with before). I'll admit that at first, she was very loving and almost a little clingy right away, and I was a little unsure, but I just chalked it up to inexperience and it didn't really bother me that much.