Loving someone who is hurt

Chrisjenkins

I've never done this sort of thing before, though I guess I've never loved that many people and so have not thought really considered asking a stranger's opinion. To start, I met the guy I fell in love with through his now ex partner. He introduced us and it sounds weird, but I felt something almost the moment we started talking. He asked for my number and we started chatting, very soon I was seeing him alone and sometimes with his partner. I know now it seems wrong but we couldn't stop myself. He came to London to spend time with me. Early on he said he wasn't happy with his bf and didn't love him. I did think for a while I was just the mistress but something told me I wasn't. Then recently he said he loved me, without any prompting from me and even spoke about our future he finally, after we both got upset, decided he would leave his bf. However since then, it's been about a week, he's been upset and I stayed with him to help him but also because I wanted to be with him. He says he misses his bf, partly because he was always there, but he says he feels strongly for me too. Then last night we decided he and I needed to take it slowly, as he needed time to think about things and get them clearer in his mind. I guess this is normal after a break up and when there is someone like me in the picture? I think I should wait because it feels right and we have been honest with each other along the way, talking about it in depth and what could happen.

He has been honest with you about still having feelings for someone else; unfortunately this means that there is not really room for you in his life. Sure, you can wait - but it will give you a load of heartache along the way with no guarantee that you'll ever be together properly.