When Shy People Meet- SOS

ClaireHunt

This is my first time using an online forum for advice, so please bear with me.

I will try to give as much detail as I can without making my identity/personal information too specific.

I'm on the Varsity Volleyball team with this girl (I'm going to refer to her as "April"). Anyways, April's brother (Let's call him "August") is on the Varsity Soccer team. I go to a private, Christian school- and our school isn't big enough to have it's own sports teams, so our sports teams are composed of student's from my school as well as a neighboring (Also Christian) school. August and April go to the neighboring school, so I only really see them at sporting events or other school events.

I (I'm going to use the pen-name "January") have developed a crush on August, who- like me- is very shy.

My school has a big dance at the end of the year (Formal), but unlike other school events- only students from my school are invited. That means that if I don't invite August to formal, he isn't able to go. I really want to ask him.

August and I don't really know each other, if i'm being honest. I'm really close with April, though. April thinks that August and I would make a good couple.

How should I ask him out? Or at least, how do I get closer to him.

Oh! Also; for Formal, we get these RSVP cards instead of tickets. So I guess I wouldn't have to personally ask him out- I could give him the invitation card. That seems really impersonal though? Help, please.

- January