Open Club  ·  99 members  ·  Free

Journals

One Day at a Time

asdfjkl82

Throughout my entire life, writing has been the thing to save me.

Writing has always been there. I learned to love reading as a child because my mom would read me bedtime stories - a proven fact that if a parent reads to their child, the love of reading will transfer. It was a gift that I will forever cherish because words are, and will always be, the way to my heart. I wanted to be a writer when I was in middle and high school. I thought that I had a gift and, honestly, I still think that I'm pretty good. Unfortunately, I don't have the creativity needed to create my own characters and map out my own plots. I fell in love with characters that were already created in fictional worlds that someone else fabricated, and I began to write fanfiction. I was a fanfic writer for years. It made me happy and was always a great escape from my own life and my own demons. When I was writing, I was focusing on characters and their problems - not mine. It's the escape that every person who watches a tv show or a movie craves; I just translated it to literature.

In the last few years I've stopped writing fanfiction. In fact, I stopped writing altogether unless it was for homework or school. I miss it and I miss the way it helps me process things. So here I am! This journal is because I just graduated from college and am, for the first time in my life, trying to figure out how to live without being a student attending to deadlines and class schedules. I'm trying to navigate this whole adult thing while feeling isolated and lonely because I am no longer surrounded by countless friends who were only a text away, I no longer have fun nights out or library homework dates, and I'm at a weird crossroads or breaking point with my best friend. I'm constantly job searching and constantly coming up empty. I'm lost right now.