I don’t know what to do with my career.. am i being picky?

BanksC

Hello everyone!

So quite a long one..

I have been working in my job since March 2018, I work in a call centre for a bank. At first, I really liked the job, you had training for weeks so you werent thrown on the job straight away, pay is amazing with it increasing after training.. a lot of benefits like pension, rewards etc!

My shift pattern is a 4 on 4 off, i work 4 days then im off for 4, and they are 11 hour shifts with 1 hour lunch and 3x 15 min computer breaks. So at first I thought amazing, mini break every week!

Before this I was a bar maid, I had the potential to move up but I didn’t want to work behind a bar anymore. I said to myself I would never work in a call centre, i can barely make a phone call to someone myself nevermind me taking them!

So, it’s been a tough year with anxiety/depression, after around 2/3 months I finally told them about it as it was having a bad effect on my job and health, I was suffering from more migraines but I put this down to the shift pattern also, it’s such long hours stuck behind a computer! I requested a shift pattern change, to shorter hours over 5 days - they said they’d try but can’t do it because of “business reasons” .

I have slowly come to hate the job, at the beginning everything is basically sold to you for e.g. you’re told about the opportunities available, like moving departments, promotion etc.. but don’t tell you you’ve got to be there for a lengthy period of time first, you aren’t entitled to half the benefits until after a year.. which i understand a lot of places are like this! but we never got told that until the last month or so...