Life is meaningless?

petrichors

Hey everyone,

I'm a 21 year old female. I'm currently in my last year of college, majoring in Marketing - I'm hardworking and my grades are pretty good (3.7 GPA). I'm also working a decent company that pays me quite well as an intern. My family life is fine, and I do have a few friends I can trust although I can only count them on one hand.

In junior year of high school, I picked up social media as my hobby - and it was something I poured my heart and soul into. I was able to accumulate 30,000 followers on Tumblr and 19,000 followers on Instagram by posting my own original content that many liked. It went pretty well up until the beginning of this year. Due to some algorithmic changes, my content doesn't show to as many people anymore and I've been losing followers and seeing a large drop in my engagement. I know it sounds stupid, but this has really messed with my self-esteem.

I'm considering dropping this hobby because it feels more like a job than something that I can enjoy leisurely. But the problem is I don't see myself doing anything else long-term. No other activity makes me as happy as creating content. I'm starting to feel like I'm losing meaning in life. Other than work and school, there is nothing else that really makes me happy other than my family and friends - but I want to be able to truly enjoy something without the influence of other people. Is this normal?

Well, you know, everyone has taken a hit in users because websites have changed their algorithms and have dumped users that are inactive. It has nothing to do with you! Have you been monetizing your pages? You should be making some money on your content. Maybe you want to set up a website on GoDaddy or someplace and use Tumblr and Instagram to send people over to your Website where you can sign them up to your own newsletter and build audiences that way. Also look into getting on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook.