Too suicidal to live, but too scared to commit suicide

kyivish

My earliest memory of suicide was when I was 10. I tried to hang myself with a bath towel. I didn't grow up in a loving household, however it wasn't an abusive one either. We rarely had family dinners and no one seemed to ever care what was going on with each other. It was a very lonely childhood. I never misbehaved or got into trouble so I was left alone. Like a living ghost in my home. I remember having a teddybear who I fantasized would give me fatherly advice. Sad emotions were a taboo in my family, and very much still are 23 years later.

I seem to have a really hard time making friends, I can make tons of causal friends but rarely deep friendships. And I always seem to ruin those when my depression spikes. As of today everyday is a tedious existence. I have a blood clotting disorder. Last year I was laid off and lost my insurance. It's been very difficult finding work. I have a college degree and I had 8 years at my last job as a manager. Because I lost insurance I couldn't afford my blood thinners or anti depressants.

A month ago I finally found a job. It was a good job at a mom and pop shop. Two weeks in and my health issues finally caught up with me. I had another massive DVT in my leg that put me in the hospital for over a week. My work called and said they can't wait for me to recover. I was let go. When my family visited me the first things they said was how stupid I was for letting myself get in this situation.

The first and only girl I ever got close to was 8 years ago and she cheated on me with a coworker. Ever since then I am scared to date or let myself fall for anyone. My best friend has since been distancing herself from me. She doesn't return calls or texts. I have no idea why but it's been a theme in my life since High school.