Looking for a Job Abroad

Hi everyone,

As the title of this posting suggests, I'm considering a change in my career and my sights are set on overseas options. I'm a database developer, and I've spent the last six years working in the health insurance industry in this regard. I'm Irish, so the natural choice for me to move overseas would be the UK, as it's not too far away, the language is the same and there are jobs there in the IT industry.

My question is one of approach. I've looked at a number of job sites, and I have found a number of jobs that I would be suitable for, but I have not applied for any of time. My reasoning is that I don't just want to apply for any job; rather, I would like to find a job that would appeal to me. Job search sites don't seem to be very apt for this kind of search.

I was thinking of going down the route of a recruitment agency, but I've never used such a service before, and I don't know what to look for.

This probably seems very naive to many, but despite my age, I have only held two jobs since leaving college. The first was a bit of a disaster. I took the job as it was the first that came up, but I was ill-suited to the role. This experience has left me wary of changing jobs, hence why I have remained in my current position for so long. I guess I'm just looking for some pointers on how to look for the right job for me, and not just a job that I could do.

Thank you :).

Hi everyone,

My question is one of approach. I've looked at a number of job sites, and I have found a number of jobs that I would be suitable for, but I have not applied for any of time. My reasoning is that I don't just want to apply for any job; rather, I would like to find a job that would appeal to me. Job search sites don't seem to be very apt for this kind of search.

I was thinking of going down the route of a recruitment agency, but I've never used such a service before, and I don't know what to look for.