Discouraged by how slowly my life is progressing

I am really just looking for some insight and encouragement. I just turned 27, and lately I’ve been feeling disappointed in myself for not having accomplished more. I am a teacher and I’m working on my masters degree, I’m married, but I am sad that I don’t yet have children and a house. Many of my friends that are my age have beautiful homes and children. And I feel like I’m working my butt off and not getting anywhere. Where did I go wrong? What am I not doing that everyone else is?

Set goals.

First - finish your degree and get a higher paying job (professor?). Then reward yourself.

Goal #2 - budget for a nicer place to live. Be patient and just let it happen.

^ that sort of thing.

You're so young, man. It takes more time for some people.

Trust me - once you do start reaching some of these goals, it's going to feel SO MUCH better because you worked hard for it. Nothing was given to you.

Your self-worth and confidence will start to grow. Just be patient, dude.

Well for 27 years old and being a teacher with a masters degree I would consider that extremely successful. It would have been tough building a house/marriage/kids as well as studying and building your career.

Recognize yourself for the great you have done, for all the hard work you have put in and look forward to those things in the near future.

If it makes you feel any better, I'm 27, just left an abusive relationship last year and took with me A LOT of debts that weren't because of me. I have 3 children and I struggle from day to day with money as I have no education. Just now am I working towards going to Uni and getting my degree.

I just keep remembering to try to stay happy and grateful with what I have done with my life and not compare myself to others. It's the only way!