Interviewing and was given bad advice from head hunter.

I had a interview last week and asked my head hunter how to answer the question they all ask: Why are you seeking new employment?

She told me to tell them that the compensation plan changed. I thought she must know and told them that. In the feedback, they felt I was moving jobs for money which was a negative. Basically it was the wrong answer for this company. I thought about it and thought, what is the best way to answer that question? Any suggestions?

I have been a manager, supervisor and worked from home and had my own business, I can work in teams or alone. They felt, by something I said which I can't figure out, that I relied to much on a manager for answers, which made no sense either. I rarely go to managers and am a pretty independent thinker. You can't run your own business or work from home without being self motivated and a problem solver. This interview was odd and way off base.

Has anyone had this happen to them?

The best way to answer the question is to be honest.

Why did you want a new job?

If you want a new job for growth opportunities, because you work from home and wanted to be part of a team again, you want to use your X skills that relate to your degree that you were not able to use at your current job, and the job you are applying for is more in that field, etc.

I've always answered that question by saying I was not being challenged enough, that I am looking for new opportunities wherein I can continue to learn and grow. And that my current job was no longer providing me with those opportunities.

Make sure you tell them how much you've enjoyed working at your current job, but are seeking something more challenging with an opportunity for growth.

I've been offered jobs on the spot! Not sure if it was because of that, but I've been told that is a good response.

Do not mention salary or benefits or anything to do with money!