Are we too different?

anna8896

Heya!

My boyfriend Mike and I have been together for just over a year, living together and both working full time. He works in a family business and im a front end developer.

since we have been together he has always partied and drank alot. I didnt mind, i was getting on with my own life and not worried about his, since then...its just got so tedious. ill do all the housework, i cant get him to do a thing and he parties every weekend and spends sunday hungover and monday grumpy.

He cant see why id be annoyed. Okay, i get it- time for himself ect., hes always done this- this is the way he is, but this is binge drinking- its not the way anybody should be.

I dont want to give up on everything- hes blaming me for bringing it up, im asking him to grow up.

I feel like the decision is being made for me and its horrible

Binge-drinking every weekend wouldn't work for me, either. It comes with too many other problems and isn't conducive to a healthy and stable relationship, more often than not. I realize college kids indulge in this, for example, but at a certain point it's immature and can point to deeper problems.

Yes, it seems you knew he was like this. But now you also know he's not interested in adjusting his lifestyle. This is what he likes. So you have a decision to make, and it would seem to me that the answer is pretty clear: if drinking and partying is a priority, I'd be out the door.

Unfortunately you need to move out asap. At this point you have a very unhealthy mother-child, party animal enabler situation. Stop arguing, etc. it will never work. Nor will playing mom or martyr. Actions speak louder than words. Move Out or kick him out. Why did you move in so quickly knowing all this? You are making all the decisions, not him by staying and condoning all this.