Dating a woman with an ex husband and kids

Ohioguy

I'm new to this situation and am trying to learn the boundaries. Today my gf and I went to her sons play at school and she explained to me that he has another one this evening and that his father needs to take him to it. In a disgusted voice, she explains that he probably wont bc he's selfish and will find some way out of it. She talks more about him being selfish and not a good parent. Then later she shows me their conversation with him where she had basically told him it was OK if he didn't go, Bc there was not enough notice for him.... I guess I'm finding it odd that she kind of lied to me about how she was handling the situation. She's constantly making sure he knows the school schedule by texting it to him and reminding him about what he should be doing so he doesn't have to keep track himself. But to me, will act like she's rough on him. I'm just not really sure how to talk to her about this without looking like I'm just jealous.

Well, having been a single mother, I can tell you it's probably that she can't tell him what she really thinks. Her saying "It's ok if you don't go" was her way of keeping the peace. See, being divorced with a child is not at all easy, and dealing with an ex-spouse for the sake of the child can be HELL. You have to swallow your pride and ignore your personal feelings.

I think that what she's saying to you is her real feelings. I don't think she was lying to you. The fact that she showed you their conversation makes me think this even more.

I also think that her texting him constantly about the school schedule isn't a service to him exactly...it's more that she's making sure he's doing what he's supposed to be doing.