Boyfriend confusing why is he doing this?

kaya820

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here.

I'd really like some advice because I don't understand why my boyfriend is behaving like this. I don't know if he is silently blowing me off instead of telling me he wants to break up, or he is just really stressed and needs space.

We are in a long-distance relationship. He is on his working visa (he comes from another country) and moved initially from my city to another to find a farm job elsewhere (there were none at the time in my city). We had an incredible time together before he moved and especially on the day we spent together before he caught his flight. He called me right when he landed.

After a month of him moving, I noticed he stopped saying he misses me and didn't call except for that one time after he landed. But he texted me everyday to say good morning and how was your day etc. I told him I feel confused that he doesn't act affectionate. He didn't feel comfortable talking about that and then he explained he actually is very stressed because he couldn't find a job and "I know I should but I can't care about you right now". I didn't know what how to take that - if it meant he isn't interested or if he genuinely was really unable to deal with his stress.

I've heard that men do that when stressed - they retreat to deal with their problems - so I continued the relationship and tried to be cheerful.

A month after this and no calls or affectionate texts, (but he does text everyday good morning and how was my day?) I again said that he isn't really treating me like his girlfriend. I said he doesn't call, doesn't talk affectionately, didn't tell me when he moved to another city, and that I deserve more than this. I don't know if I came across as criticising, I didn't try to, but I wanted to explain my standards and get some clarity. This time, he hasn't replied for days.