To have a baby, or not to have a baby

Jagger87

I hate that I’ve resorted to looking for advice on here, but I know that all of my friends would say “just go ahead and have a baby already!” Because they would love nothing more than for me to join the mommy club.

Anyways, my heart wants a baby, but my brain is telling me to wait. I want to start off by saying that I have been happily married for 2 years (though we’ve been together for 7 years), I am 27, we both went to college and have good jobs though they don’t pay the most. I am a teacher so I definitely don’t make much, he makes about double what I make. I have a fear of making permanent commitments. I think I’m scared of having a baby because it’s so permanent and it will change everything. I’m also scared that we won’t be able to afford a baby. Right now we live in a mobile home and are saving to build, but we are not even close to having enough saved to start building yet. I’m worried that if we have a baby it will take all of our savings to buy everything it needs and then we will never be able to build a house. I can’t live in this mobile home forever. I’m also scared because I don’t have parents that can help with babysitting and what not and my husband’s parents are unreliable. So we basically won’t get help at all as far as babysitting and what not. Which isn’t a big deal but I know that when my friends have had babies they were so blessed that their mothers were able to help them figure out everything in the beginning and were able to help them while they were recovering from childbirth. It kind of hurts my heart to know that I will never have that. However, I think about having a baby all the time. I feel like a baby is the biggest thing that is missing from my life and I want a family so bad. I’m also not getting any younger and am scared to wait and then not be able to have babies.

What should I do???? Are we ready?