My Girlfriend Suggests we should go on a Break

I'm sorry this is so long but I need to explain the full story so you guys can get a better grasp of things. I just need guidance on this topic as I have very few people who understand my issue and can give reasonable advice regarding it.

So this relationship has been on and off for about a year and a half. We first met in the summer when i graduated highschool. Shes a year younger. We were happy and loved each other deeply. I then moved to my university that was 2 hour train ride away and we were distraut but decided to stick it out. I wasnt really experienced with the whole first year college thing (everyone is looking to ) so i made a terrible mistake when a girl walked into my room and hooked up with me (only kissed). I knew i ed up and i felt like and told my gf the same day that happened and she hated me for doing it but we came back together and things were pretty good. We saw each other every two weeks or so and kept constant communication.

Fast forward a few months. I get accepted to another university thats in a different continent (My program is 5 years long). I get to visit home every 4 months. After first semester we get to meet for 1 month and after second semster we get to meet for 3 moths. That makes for a total of 4 visitng months per year. There is also a 15 hour time difference between us. We think about breaking up but again decide to stick it out.

I finally get to my school abroad and i realize I have no idea what to do and I miss her so ing much. About a month in I decide that we should break it off. I tell her that I'm feeling distant from her when in fact it was the opposite. I missed her so much and there was so much pain for me to bear that I really couldnt handle it. I didn't realize what a real long distance relationship was like. I try and get over her with other girls and activities but i cant brush her off my mind.