I don't want to be in a relationship anymore, but I feel too guilty to break it off.

dg9159

So, my girlfriend and I have been together for about 1year and 2 months and 6-7 months of that time were long distance (I am the one that left). There were good times and bad times, but I mostly struggled with the fact that I feel that our goals in life are too different. I have studied for most of my life, in fact I am in my 1st year of a 2 year postgraduate degree, while she hasn't and because of this I would like to travel and work for big companies in order to have a good future while she would rather stay in our home country and have a simple life. In fact we once even had an argument because I told her that I would like a job were I can travel for 1-2 weeks once or twice a year, and she told me that it would not be fair on the wife (referring to herself) because I would leave her alone with the children for 2-4 weeks a year (this is just one example of what I mean with different goals). I decided to move away because I felt that there were more opportunities abroad and also because I was bored of were I lived. She always said that she does not want to move abroad, and in fact for the most part of our LDR she kept insisting on this, but suddenly she's "changed her mind". I feel uncomfortable with this because she once asked me whether I would be willing to leave the place I've moved to and go back to my home country if she felt home sick here, to which I replied that I don't want to move back unless I want to. I made it very clear to her before I left our home country that I am moving to this new place because I intend to study and work here for some time (and I don't know for how long). I feel that she does not really want to move here and that eventually she will want to go back and I will be forced to go back too.