Supermarket conversation starters

monkeysblood

I’m looking to improve my skills at having conversations, particularly with strangers. One of the places that I think would be good for this is at a supermarket till when buying something etc.

However, I’m not very good at moving from a plain purchasing something conversation to something a bit different, that could lead to something more substantial, and hopefully get to know the person a bit.

Does anyone have any tips (and examples) for how to do this?

I nearly screamed in terror reading this. You just described my worst nightmare.

Could just be me, but I'd honestly assume people just want to do their darn groceries in peace.

If you want to improve on social skills, start with the people you know- as for strangers, it at least wouldnt be intrusive if you happened to chat them up in an actually more social setting. Events and interest groups are perfect.

Sweet baby jesus I cannot be the only one who reaaaaalllyyy doesn't want to be chatted up while picking up groceries.

I would say the supermarket, aside from needing to learn to express your needs to the staff there, is not a good place to make conversations with people. people want to be in and out. They are on a mission. If you are in a small gourmet place that only sells olive oils or wine - you have a better chance of having a natural conversation that doesn't sound creepy. Or better yet, attend an event at the local health food store or the cooking class at William Sonoma.

I nearly screamed in terror reading this. You just described my worst nightmare.

Could just be me, but I'd honestly assume people just want to do their darn groceries in peace.

If you want to improve on social skills, start with the people you know- as for strangers, it at least wouldnt be intrusive if you happened to chat them up in an actually more social setting. Events and interest groups are perfect.