The balancing Act of Husband vs Exams

divz21

Hi all,

It’s been a while since I’ve been on this forum..simply because I’ve haven’t felt this alone in a long time.

I am a married woman of two years with an amazing husband who is kind, loving and who takes great pride in looking after me and I am always forever grateful. We both work full time he is self employed in a family business and I Am employed as an Accountant. For most of our marriage I am studying for exams which could be 6 months of the year I spend most of my time studying going to tuition and revision courses on weekends, which does leave little time to spend with my husband. I do feel guilty at times as he does do a lot with helping around the house with washing, cooking etc. I always show my appreciation during the lead up to exams I understand it’s tough for him and it’s hard but it’s not for forever.

I feel like when I do have the time to spend with him he does not capitalise on it and when I don’t have the time and I’m busy with exams he misses me. I just finished my final exams Friday.. and today would have been the time to spend together but we got into a fight.. he blames me for not helping around for the last 2 months. Even though he knows I have been working so hard with exams it’s like he plays the supportive role but the truth has come out.

His expectations are so high he brings me down that I can’t be the dutiful wife who cooks and cleans for him. I’ve tried my best to change and make him meals and do what I can but he scrutinises me and that I don’t feel I’m good enough for him.

He knew before he married me that I would need to do exams as they are important for my career and would help us financially for now and our future.