All,

I would like some advice here. I am with a great girl, and I really do love her. However, it is becoming extremely difficult dealing with her. She has some physiological issues, mainly extreme anxiety. She can go from 1-10 in the matter of seconds; I am becoming very exhausted dealing with it, and the fact I feel like I am walking on eggs shells. Last night was kind of my tipping point with the whole situation. Our conversation was great, and she randomly brought up a situation that happened the other day out of nowhere. Her last past relationships, she told me she felt she could never talk about her feelings, and she felt she could never express herself, but I don’t want to be like that with her. It seems like every day is an argument with her, and I feel like I have to just listen and try my best to help. But, I am getting tired… She doesn’t seem to under that I work, I am also a firefighter, and on top of that I have a son. I do everything in my power to see her, communicate, and be there for her, I can’t help when things happen out of my control, and I can’t help being busy. I really don’t want to leave her, and I made a promise and I stick to my commitments. I guess I am asking here, how can I deal with her? I have tried everything from listening, being there, and just reassuring her I won’t give up on her, what more can I do?

I just feel like I need to clear my head..

Sorry this is happening. In addition to a loving, understanding relationship, she needs therapy. You can not simultaneously be a BF and a therapist. It kills the feelings and creates the burnout, as you have so well described. Tactfully suggest that she may need to unpack some of this stuff with a trained professional for best results.