Wife bringing work home with her (mentally). Getting annoying.

Unreasonable

My wife started a new job with more responsibility. This is a stressful job, no doubt, and I don't blame her for thinking about it off the clock. But it is to the point where she literally ignores everything I say. Like, I'll say something and... nothing. Not even a grunt to acknowledge I said something. And this is not some of the time, this is most of the time. Even on dates (which is most annoying). I'll then usually say "you're not listening to me again" at which I'll usually get a "oh sorry I was thinking about work", and then I have to say the whole thing over again. I really don't want to say everything twice for the rest of my life and I don't know what to do about it, even if I get her to say what it's about it's all mumbo jumbo I don't understand. What can I do about this?

To be completely honest, I'm the same way. I do interpreting for a living, so when I come home, I'm frankly all listened-out. We had that conversation pretty early on, though, and she's pretty understanding. Particularly coming off a 12 hour day, my brain's probably frazzled until bed time and I'll load up the PS4 for a couple hours to decompress a bit. But, on that note, I do actually know what I need to decompress so that I can be a supportive partner during the time I'm not. That may be a better way to navigate the waters rather than outright lamenting her not listening to you. If it's an issue, you might start with empathizing about how you understand the stress and the responsibilities and that of course that all isn't going to go away once she comes through the door. Ask her what she needs to decompress so that you're not bugging her and you're not getting frustrated when she's just not in a state.

That's assuming this hasn't been a conversation already, though.