8 years of uncertainty...

RyanMatrix

Hi there.

This is my first time posting here, and first time ever talking to an audience about myself in regards to my commitment issue. This is a long post so I understand if you aren't able to take the time read it. But for those of you who have time to help, thank you very much.

My girlfriend and I have been together for the last 8 years and living together for the last 5. In this time, she has made it clear to me that she wants to marry me. I have not yet asked her to marry me, and I now become very uncomfortable whenever the subject comes up. Tonight, she left with our dog to go spend the evening at her parents without me, something she has only done once before when she was really upset. I am at a loss of what to do at this point, which is why I am posting on this forum. I basically have nobody else that I am comfortable enough to talk to, but I need advice and insight badly.

The backstory...