Is 30 years old considered too old to start your Master's?

dragonfly87

I finished college by Dec. 2015 and obtained my BA in Hotel Management and Tourism 6 months later.

Due to certain inconveniences, I had to take a break for a year. I'm now 30 years old and planning to enroll in a 2 years Master's program somewhere between Oct to the beginning of Jan.

I can't help but wonder if I'm too old to start my Master's. I was already 28 by the time I graduated from college for the first time (I finished later than usual for personal reasons).

Why do you want to get a Master's degree? Is it cost effective to do so? chi

I agree.

Don't get me wrong, I got my master's in my 30s and don't think age is an issue at all. But what will it do for you, career-wise? Will the pay increase cover the cost of school? Or will you be saddled with student loans for decades?

I agree.

Don't get me wrong, I got my master's in my 30s and don't think age is an issue at all. But what will it do for you, career-wise? Will the pay increase cover the cost of school? Or will you be saddled with student loans for decades?

It’s an interesting point made there, but I don’t believe that studying has to be solely focused on where it takes you in a career. It could just be for the challenge or the interest in a subject area.

During my undergrad studies there were a couple of people there who were retired but just wanted to do something that they were interested in.