Taking Out Important Customers - What to Wear and How to Entertain?

thornz

So I volunteered to wine and dine some important customers at my new job. I have been here a month and know very little about my company and their products beyond my own project. I also know nothing about the customers company. I am also new to the town and haven't had chance to explore the area.

So! Given that I'm unlikely to know much of the usual stuff I'd expect the customers would like to talk about, how do I keep them entertained? I think the venue is likely to be picked by my employer so at least I don't have to worry about that?

I know a lot about food and a lot about engineering (my job) but not a great deal about topical subjects or politics. I think they are foreign so hopefully there won't be too much of a language barrier. I'm useless at small talk. Any suggestions for what I can bring up for discussion and to ensure the customers have an enjoyable time?

Also what do I wear? My usual dinner/drinks outfit would be tight dress, knee length or below and high/modest neckline.

I have an outfit in mind. Form fitting cerise high waist pencil skirt with a cropped vintage style black tailored top and black mid height wedge shoes. Maybe pics are necessary?

Forgot to mention I was asked an hour ago to take them out tomorrow after work so my research time will be limited. Probably should have asked them how to spell the company name so I can look it up!

I strongly suggest you educate yourself on your company, and theirs.

Usually, convo will flow. Ask them questions about their country. you may also want to educate yourself on their customs, as well as things that could be offensive to their culture. People like to talk about themselves. DO NOT talk politics or religion.

Do not wear anything revealing or tight. Keep it professional, as this is work.