Narcissist? Jerk? Player? Drug Issues?

FooledMe4Shame

I am so confused and upset over what went wrong to the guy I was dating I really would love if someone could knock some sense into my head so this never happens again.

Long story short, we met and a few days later he was already telling me he loves me. I never said it back because I don't operate in this manner, and 'love' is a huge word to me - and more so an action. It freaked me out every time he said it, yet he seemed so very genuine and though I saw it as a huge red flag and game spitting it kind of grew on me.

Just to put it out there - I had sex with him the first night which I have never done before - but I have been single for over a year and it took me so long to heal I was finally ready to feel closeness again. After sex the first night I was positive I would never see him again, and I was actually ok with it since I know I acted super easy - but to my surprise he texted me a few hours after he left saying how amazing I am and wanting to go on a real date.

We spent a few more times together and it was great, talked on the phone a lot in between etc. I was becoming overly happy yet I kept thinking to myself this feels too good to be true - and apparently it was...